top of page
Curator Entrance

This page is intended as a synopsis for your review as to the quality of work produced by the artists involved in the Fraser Valley Chapter of the FCA (Federation of Canadian Artists).

We currently have over 80 members in the chapter encompassing a variety of mediums. Below is a brief history of both organizations and a representation of our members work.

After reviewing this page please feel free to move about the site to learn more about our organization. You may be specifically interested in our members work, which you can view on the 'Our Artists' tab.

The Federation of Canadian Artists

The Federation of Canadian Artists (FCA) was established in 1941 with André Bieler as its first president. Other leaders have included the Group of Seven painter, Lawren Harris.


As a provincially incorporated society and federally registered charity, the FCA is dedicated to the promotion and professional development of Canadian artists through education, exhibition and communication programs.


Aiming to gradually raise the artists’ standards by stimulating participants to greater heights of achievement, they opened what is believed to be the first completely artist-sponsored gallery-workshop-studio in Canada.

The Fraser Valley Chapter

In 1992, the Federation of Canadian Artists assisted in the formation of a Chapter in the Fraser Valley. At that time there were several small groups of artists who would benefit from uniting under one umbrella to further their common goals while establishing a link to the FCA.

Founding member Jean Hanson, who was instrumental in forming the Fraser Valley Chapter, chaired the first meetings. The group of approximately twenty-five members met every second month in Abbotsford for a business meeting and artists’ demonstration.

Since its inception, the Fraser Valley Chapter has exhibited in various locations in the valley. In addition, individual members exhibit at the Federation Gallery in Vancouver. The Chapter now has over eighty members from Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Sardis,Yarrow, Cultus Lake, Maple Ridge, Pitt Meadows, Port Coquitlam, Mission, Langley, New Westminster, Delta, Tsawwassen and Surrey..

bottom of page